Badminton at the 2024 Summer Olympics Schedule and Events

Badminton is set to be one of the popular events at the upcoming 2024 Summer Olympics in Paris. The badminton tournaments will take place from July 27 to August 5 at the Porte de la Chapelle Arena.

Badminton Makes Its Return to the 2024 Paris Olympics

A total of 172 badminton players will be competing across five medal events – men’s singles, men’s doubles, women’s singles, women’s doubles, and mixed doubles. The number of athletes and events are the same as the previous Olympic Games.

Badminton at the 2024 Summer Olympics Schedule and Events

Badminton at the 2024 Paris Summer Olympics Schedule

The tournament schedule features matches across 10 days. Preliminary rounds will be held for the first three days from July 27-29. This will be followed by the round of 16 and quarterfinals as the tournament enters the knockout stage. The semifinals and medal matches will then be held from August 2-5.

Men’s and Women’s Singles

The men’s and women’s singles will feature 64 players each. Reigning Olympic champions Viktor Axelsen (Denmark) and Chen Yufei (China) will attempt to defend their titles. Other top contenders include Japan’s Kento Momota and Taiwan’s Tai Tzu-ying.

Doubles Events

A total of 16 pairs each will compete in the men’s doubles, women’s doubles and mixed doubles categories. China has won gold in both the men’s and women’s doubles at the last two Olympics and will aim for a hat-trick in Paris. The mixed doubles promises close contests between Asian pairs and partnerships from Europe.

Key Details

  • Venue: Porte de la Chapelle Arena
  • Dates: July 27 – August 5, 2024
  • Number of events: 5
  • Number of athletes: 172
  • Medal events: Men’s singles, men’s doubles, women’s singles, women’s doubles, mixed doubles

With a perfect blend of athleticism and skill, badminton is sure to capture the imagination of fans and athletes alike at Paris 2024. The Olympic badminton competition will feature an intense battle between Asian powerhouses China, Japan, South Korea, India, Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, Chinese Taipei, Hong Kong and rising European nations.

Leave a Comment